75 JOHN STREET, WATERDOWN, Ontario.
Nestled in a quiet residential neighbourhood overlooking Waterdown Memorial Park, this six storey hi-rise is conveniently located minutes north of Dundas Street (Hwy #5), in the town of Waterdown.
In close proximity to all amenities, you will find schools, shopping and restaurants are only a short walk from the building.
In 1823, Entrepreneur Ebenezer Culver Griffin purchased over half of Alexander Brown’s property that marked the true beginning of the Village of Waterdown. It was Griffin that had his property surveyed into village lots in 1830.
A local story credits Ebenezer Griffin with giving Waterdown its name. A prohibitionist, Griffin did not approve of the vast quantities of alcohol being consumed during the Victorian Age, including the whiskey used to christened new mills. During the christening of one of Griffin’s mills the carpenter called out for its name and someone in the crowd called out “Hey Ebenezer, throw that water down.” The carpenter heard the name “Waterdown” and it was given to the mill and soon adopted by the emerging village.
The Village of Waterdown amalgamated with other communities to form the Town of Flamborough in 1974. In 2001, Waterdown became municipally known as the City of Hamilton.